When Darkness Calls
Style: Heavy (Power) Metal
Release date: May 2012
Playing time: 49:04

A new metal band featuring members of SAVATAGE – TOKYO BLADE – Jack Starr’s BURNING STARR. Line-up: Todd Michael Hall - Vocals, Bryan Holland - Guitar, Frank Kruckel - Bass, Pete Rossi - Guitar and Steve Wacholz - Drums. With rather known members the expectations are a little high of course.

The guitars sound rather crunchy and with Steve on drums, that part can't be bad either. The songs have refrains that are rather easy to sing a long with, but that makes them recognizable too. Singer Todd does a good job, but you have to get used to his rather high pitched vocals. I can understand that his sound will not be liked by all of you. Although I have to say that he does a very good job in the ballad "After the Leaves Have Fallen".

The music is a mix of Savatage, Warrior, Judas Priest and Crimson Glory, but not yet that good. Most of the songs are mid-tempo and in general well written. The rather heavy guitar sound makes this an album that is heavy, but due to the refrains rather easy to listen to too. The info wants us to believe that they play power metal, but I would call it a modern version of old school melodic heavy metal with some power metal influences.

Due to the vocals and the refrains I am not totally overwhelmed, but I can advice you to take a listen to this band. If you like the bands mentioned above I think you will find songs you like on this album for certain.


01. When Darkness Calls
02. Bleed For Me
03. Phantom Road
04. Devil in Disguise
05. Gatekeeper
06. Too Late
07. The Price You Pay
08. Monster
09. Revolution Rising
10. After the Leaves Have Fallen
11. Vengeance is Mine

Label: Razor Ice Records
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 22 June, 2012