Welcome to the Theater
Style: Melodic Power Metal
Release date: 30 May, 2012
Playing time: 52:51

Bombastic power metal executed in the best way you can find. Swedish multi instrumentalist Tommy Johansson knows exactly how to write an interesting and well arranged song. Every year he creates a new album and of course there are similarities to the band Golden Resurrection with Liljegren on vocals, but who cares.

Most of the tracks are fast and the songs are a mix of the better metal bands in this genre; Angra, Stratovarius, Helloween, Nightwish, Avantasia, Symphony X, Rhapsody of Fire etc. etc. The themes of the songs are inspired by movies like Star Wars, Jurassic Park and Spiderman, just to name a few. The production is on a high level, although I have to say that the drums could have been a bit more up front.

Tommy has created one beautiful melody after an other on this album and the orchestral parts sound majestic. Nice leads, galloping rhythms and shredding soli, everything is there. The songs are bombastic, theatrical, well polished with a lot of melody. The only thing you can argue about is whether or not this is a top album in the genre, or just an unoriginal album with nothing new. Over the top, or the best you can get?

One thing is for sure, I enjoyed the music, original or not. Judge for yourself.


01. Welcome
02. Life Will Find a Way
03. Follow Me
04. Save Us
05. Stranger Tides
06. Somewhere in Time
07. Freedom
08. No Fate
09. Temple of the Crystal Skulls
10. Welcome to the Theater

Label: Liljegren Records
Distribution: Sound Pollution
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 30 May, 2012