Power of Metal.dk Review

Arminius: Furor Teutonicus
Style: Teutonic Metal
Release date: 26 October, 2012
Playing time: 74:19

Brothers in arms bring out the sword and armour; the Rebellion army is on the warpath again.

No more stories about the Vikings, the Teutonic cult metallers have turned their attention to the Roman history on this album. The lyrical inspiration is among other subjects the Battle of Teutoburg Forest and this is the first album to feature the new line-up after the big shake-up. And they do it in good ol' fashion: straight forward speed metal with your basic ingredients: drums, bass, guitars and your classic German shooter! No big huge choirs and millions of layers of keyboard sounds. Sure they use sound effects to support the story...

But what this comes down to is whether or not you like Teutonic Metal... and it does surely have its fascination and a huge following in Germany. Rebellion catapulted themselves to the summit of the movement with their three concept albums about the Vikings, and I do question whether or not they will remain there? Because this album is nowhere as strong as any of their previous three albums.

Sure this sounds and feels like Rebellion, the core ingredients are still very much present and they stay true to their roots and style. But the songs just aren't as strong as we are used to (IMHO). But I am sure their hardcore fans won't give a damn about what I think!

"Armenius: Furor Teutonicus" is merely a solid piece of Teutonic Metal, and not the expected step forward for the warriors of steel.

01. Rest in Peace (06:25)
02. Ala Germanica (04:05)
03. Prince of the Cheruscer (04:38)
04. Dusk Awaiting Dawn (05:23)
05. Breeding Hate (04:25)
06. The Seeress Tower (06:33)
07. Varus (04:30)
08. The Tribes United (04:08)
09. Ghost of Freedom (05:00)
Furor Teutonicus (04:08)
11. Vae Victis (04:26)
12. Requiem (05:19)
Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 21 October, 2012
Website: @ MySpace