Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Power Metal
Release date: 24 February, 2012
Playing time: 57:56

German power metal trio Rage are back once again with their 21st recording, aptly titled, 21. With the exception of two songs, the overall theme of the material deals with suicide, serial killers, mass murder and murder in general. The heavy subject matter of the lyrics matches the heaviness of the music.
For 28 years now, the band has delivered its recognizable brand of German power metal. Their formula has always had an original and unique flavor — bringing in thrash, progressive and classical elements.
The lineup of mainstay bassist/vocalist Peter “Peavy” Wagner, with guitarist/shredder since 1999 Victor Smolski back doing what he does best and drummer since 2007, André Hilgers (Silent Force, Sinner), the band sounds as vigorous as ever. Produced by famed knob-twirler Charlie Bauerfeind (Scorpions, Saxon, Helloween, Hammerfall) and Smolski, the album has a warm and rich, full-flavored sound (sounds like I’m describing a fine wine).
21 has plenty of heavy arrangements, gruff vocals, melodic-yet-brutal chugging riffs, fiery solos, and thunderous double bass drums. The choruses are catchy, melodic and anthemic, and Smolski’s guitar work is extraordinary.
Rage has always pumped out solid, quality power metal. They are consistent in their music, yet they lag just slightly behind their German metal band peers. But this may change with 21, and since 2010’s Strings To A Web, Rage has been on an upward swing in momentum in the scene.

01. House Wins
02. Twenty One
03. Forever Dead 
04. Feel My Pain
05. Serial Killer
06. Psycho Terror 
07. Destiny
08. Death Romantic 
09. Black And White
10. Concrete Wall 
11. Eternally
Label: Nuclear Blast GmbH
Distribution: Warner Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: 6 February, 2012
Website: www.rage-on.de