Power of Metal.dk Review

Primal Fear
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 20 January, 2012
Playing time: 56:02

German power metalers Primal Fear is all about consistency. The Tuetonic titans’ ninth release, Unbreakable, has the same kind of musical vibe and guitar tone as their eponymous 1999 debut release. Honestly, the band is pretty much doing the same thing they’ve done from the beginning. And that’s a good thing. 
Scheepers is one of the ultimate power metal screamers. His vocal range and delivery is highly exceptional. At almost an hour in length and containing 12 tracks, Unbreakable is an exceptional power metal album through and through. A couple of songs in the last half of the CD could have been trimmed a little, but the album as a whole is quite enjoyable and the interest level continues from the first song to the last. 
Scheepers is in fine form as always. You know it’s Primal Fear from the get-go. The skills of guitarists Alex Beyrodt (Voodoo Circle, Sinner, Silent Force) and Magnus Karlsson, whose flashy solos and dominating riffs permeate the record. Co-originator Mat Sinner, who’s been with Scheepers since PF’s 1997 inception, and drummer Randy Black are still a formidable rhythm section.
Unbreakable is pretty solid through out. It’s undeniably Primal Fear.

01. Unbreakable (Part 1)
02. Strike
03. Give Em Hell
04. Bad Guys Wear Black
05. And There Was Silence
06. Metal Nation
07. Where Angels Die
08. Unbreakable (Part 2)
09. Marching Again
10. Born Again
11. Blaze of Glory
12. Conviction
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: 25 February, 2012
Website: www.primalfear.de