Awaken the Beast
Style: Groove Metal
Release date: 27 January, 2012
Playing time: 36:48

With a better production this second album gets more credits than their debut 'Once We Were Kings'. The songs of this Belgian band have a lot of groove and singer Jonathan varies more grunting vocals with hardcore style.

Another element is the at times spoken choruses in a few songs. The grunts are very understandable and in the more aggressive singing style he sounds like a mix of  Phil Rind (Sacred Reich) and Luke Easter (Tourniquet). The music breaths a lot of hardcore attitude and with Gary Meskil (Pro-Pain) as guest singer on 2 tracks this shows even more. Besides a lot of groove and hardcore influences, thrash, punk, rock and stoner can be heardk too. The songs are rather short and have catchy riffs.

Although it is not my top favorite genre, I listened to the entire record with pleasure and without getting bored. The variety in singing, the swinging groove, the catchy crunchy riffs and the professional mastering by Jacob Hansen are the reasons for that. I think this band will be a real hammer playing live, the energy firmly splashes out of this album. Fans of Pro-Pain, Sacred Reich, Crowbar and even Pantera should check them out.


01. The Power and the Strength
02. Centerfold
03. Sense of Honour
04. Hero Tolerance
05. Good for Nothing
06. Point of View
07. Watch and Learn
08. Thumbs Down
09. The End of Things to Come
10. Death By Broken Heart

Label: Ultimhate Records
Distribution: Ultimhate Records
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 8 April, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/powerstrokepace