City Built With Skulls
Style: Thrash
Release date: 23 May, 2012
Playing time: 41:45

There are quite a few cool retro-thrash outfits out there these days. Evile, Dr. Evil, Municipal Waste to name but a few. Like those bands, US combo Possessor have the attitude of the age (i.e. 1985-1988), but to be honest, there's something missing here to make it spot-on good.

Compared to other bands, let's take Evile, there's a different level of musicianship. 'City Built With Skulls' comes across as being a tad chaotic and untight, and even if singer Robbie sounds a bit like the late David Wayne (Metal Church/Reverend), it doesn't save the day. A couple of terrible solos (the first solo of Hammer and Nails being the prime example), a drummer who can't quite catch up with himself all the time and messy compositions, well, it doesn't really cut it in my world.

That said, 'City Built With Skulls' has its moments (the aforementioned tune Hammer and Nails for example has a cool main riff), and hardcore fans of early Metal Church, OverKill and Slayer should probably have a listen.  

01. Intro (00:59)
02. Fire From Hell (03:00)
03. Taste The Blade (03:05)
04. Heavy Metal Underground (02:37)
05. City Built With Skulls (02:56)
06. Hammer And Nails (03:49)
07. Hellhound Drifters (05:10)
08. Champions Of Chaos (05:51)
09. Who's There? (01:04)
10. Slicer (04:42)
11. Reaper Of Death (04:59)
12. Metal Meltdown (02:33)
13. Outro (01:00)
Label: Slaney Records
Promotion: Slaney Records
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 25 June, 2012
Website: www.facebook.com/possessormetal