Order of Chaos
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: 3 October, 2012
Playing time: 44:03

Obsession is an American band formed in 1982 by singer Michael Vescera. The band first came on to the scene on the Metal Massacre 2 compilation from Metal Blade Records and then they released the EP 'Marshall Law' in 1984. In 1989 they broke up and Michael joined Loudness and Yngwie Malmsteen. In 2004 Michael started with Obsession again to release 'Carnival of Lies' in 2006.

Now 6 years later 'Order of Chaos' is out. On this album we find BJ Zampa (ex Dokken, Yngwie, House of Lords) on drums, Scott Boland (MVP) and John Bruno (X Faxtor X) on guitar and Cris Mccarvill (House of Lords, ex Dokken) on bass. The songs on the album are a mix of NWOBHM (think Judas Priest/Maiden) combined with American melodic 80/90’s hard rock (Dokken). Well composed songs, with excellent guitar duels and nice riffs are what you get. It sounds rather heavy, but very melodic and easy listening too. But aren't there any negative points on the album?

In my opinion there is, I have never found Michael a very good singer. I don't know if it is his sound, but I just don't really like it. Especially on this album he sounds false at times, he sometimes howls like a wolf with its tail in a trap. Listen for example to the track "License to Kill", I can't handle that.

Just listening to the music, I really enjoy the album, but the vocals ruin this pleasure for a big part. That is a real pity, because all the other things are o.k. For the music I give it 85 points, for the singing 49 points, and all in all a score of 67.


01. Order of Chaos
02. Twist of the Knife
03. Forbidden Desire
04. When the Smoke Clears
05. License to Kill
06. Wages of Sin
07. Cold Day in Hell
08. Act of God
09. Mercy Killing
10. Dark Shadows

Label: Inner Wound Records
Distribution: Sound Pollution
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 4 October, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/theobsessionnetwork