Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 27 January, 2012
Playing time: 70:32 (digipack)

No, this is not a new band with youngsters trying to copy one of Germany's biggest thrash combos: Destruction. Between 1986 and 1994 they have already released 4 records, but they never received a lot of attention. In 2004 they restarted with the band and this is their third record since their return. Their first  two releases (2004 and 2008) didn't get a lot of promotion, but now that they have been signed with Massacre Records perhaps things will change and maybe that leads to more success?

One thing is for sure, the music on this album will not be the problem for that. High quality (German) thrash with a good sound. The vocal performance of Freddy has a Schmier (Destruction) kind of influence in them. The thrash is a combination between German, Swedish and more American thrash, a kind of mix of Death Angel, Destruction and At the Gates. Sometimes an intro gives you a little rest, but in general the album thrashes from start to finish. The only thing that can be a problem for some (not me) is that it is perhaps do get a little boring in the long run. Besides 10 new songs, they have re-recorded a new version of "Possessed By Evil" and if you buy the digipack, you get four well executed live versions extra.

Necronomicon can certainly compete with the New Wave Thrash bands and they deserved to be picked up!


01. Invictus
02. Unleashed
03. Bloody Bastards
04. Thoughts Running Free
05. Unconquered
06. Upon Black Wings
07. Face to the Wall
08. Pandora's Box
09. Before the Curtain Falls
10. Possessed By Evil
11. Magic Forest (live) digipack                           12. Nightstalker (live) digipack                            13. Hills of Death (live) digipack                          14. On Pain of Death (live) digipack

Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 25 January, 2012