Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Death Thrash Metal
Release date: 18 October, 2010
Playing time: 44:48

Ex-Dismember member Fred Estby's project was to gather talented musicians and celebrate the music he'd grown up with. Necronaut is the result of this idea.

Necronaut combines old school heavy and death metal with a primitive force. The building of the songs is simple and will please first of all fans of Bathory, Venom, Black Sabbath, but honestly the range of interest can stretch much larger, especially knowing the line-up for this record.

Necronaut's a kind of superband with members from the biggest Swedish names, starting with the frontman himself. Other big participating names are affiliated with Entombed, Autopsy, Watain, At The Gates, Graveyard, Edge of Sanity aso, each and every of them bringing his touch to Necronaut, according to the spirit brought by Fred Estby. The diversity of nuances he wanted to express is conveyed by the use of a different vocalist for each track.

Necronaut as a project and the result of it are quite entertaining and of great musical quality.

's Necronaut is recommended for all metal fans in search of their roots.

01. Crimson Fields
02. Twilight at the Trenches
03. In dark Tribute
04. Soulside Serpents
05. Infecting Madness
06. After the Void
07. The Lie in which the Truth is buried
08. Returning to kill the Light
09. Tower to Death
10. Rise of the Sentinel
Label: Regain Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 90/100
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: 8 July, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/necronaut666