World Fraud Treachery
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 24 February, 2012
Playing time: 47:21

What do Asphyx, Legion of the Damned, AC/DC, Status Quo and Mordax have in common? They all know that keeping music rather simple is sometimes the key to success. A good song, a nice riff, good arrangements and a nice groove is sometimes more important than showing how skilled you are.

Mordax has been together for a year and a half now and I have to say that I wouldn't have guessed that. They sound like a well oiled machine already. These Danes play a groovy thrash style with catchy riffs and an aggressive singing style. The only thing that I have with this album is that I get a little bored after six or seven songs. A little bit more variation in singing would help out for me. Most of the tracks are between up and mid tempo and that doesn't help either. The instrumental track "Contrapasso" however did make me wake-up again and made me think about a band with the name Metallica (do I hear a "For Whom the Bell Tolls" riff at he end of the song?).

Nevertheless not a bad album, but the band has to take a little step with the next album to really get on top. Nice first birth of this band and I'm sure we will hear a lot more from them in the years ahead.


01. Intro
02. Trademark: Strangulation
03. Devoured by Life
04. Acts of Aggression
05. Monarch of All
06. Silhouette of God
07. Necrotic Hordes
08. Contrapasso
09. No Redeemer
10. Walk the Earth
11. Treachery

Label: Ultimhate Records
Distribution: Revolution Music
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 12 February, 2012