Power of Metal.dk Review

Morbid Saint
Spectrum of Death (LP)
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 19 June, 2012
Playing time: 32:00

Too brutal to gain wider publicity in the 80es and too thrash to be included in the power of the death metal wave MORBID SAINT remained a hidden diamond of the mature American brutal thrash metal. Their wild fury (as if dressed in German aggression) did not diluted their style as this happened with POSSESSED, EXHORDER and DEMOLITION HAMMER. 

The demo of the quintet from 1988 without any unnecessary polishing has been released in the same year under the name "Spectrum of Death" by a small Mexican label. Although the fact that MORBID SAINT is a significant band, combination of factors is the reason for which we rediscover the band today. 

When the band reforms in 2010 Relapse Records declare that they will re-release the album with bonus tracks - two new songs recorded after the reunion. For somewhat reason this did not happen and the two new tracks enter the full anthology of MORBID SAINT released by themselves this year . 

Relapse Records released the LP format of "Spectrum of Death" with the original artwork and without bonus tracks. If you have not heard of this band, this is brutal, dry in German manner and convincing in Californian manner thrash metal. Fast as SADUS and aggressive like PROTECTOR these five musicians achieved more than lots of other more famous bands. BTW in the past I was suffering that on my tape the instrumental "Spectrum of Death" was dragging on... It occurs that the defect was not from my rare (for these times) possession. Obviously the master tape has been a roller type and the trip to Mexico had this effect on it. So the collectors of the new LP should know that this effect is not coming from their gramophone. This is a defect that could be easily corrected in a digital way. 

Perhaps the few releases on MS of MORBID SAINT saved the band from the experiments of the post-grunge age. And "Spectrum of Death" could stand as a colossus in the collection of every metal fan!!!


01. Lock Up Your Children
02. Burned at the Stake
03. Assassin
04. Damian
05. Crying for Death
06. Spectrum of Death
07. Scars
08. Beyond the Gates of Hell

Label: Relapse Records
Distribution: Cosmos
Reviewed by: Maria D.S.
Date: 26 August, 2012