Power of Metal.dk Review

Marilyn Manson
Born Villain
Style: Industrial/Goth Metal
Release date: 27 April, 2012
Playing time: 60:01

The incredibly wayward rock musician Marilyn Manson (Brian Warner) has gathered his goth rocking squad and given us a new metal creation. I do believe that he has created his own niche music wise, where the horror, mystery, asexuality and hard swings against ultra-right wing in America was a breath of fresh air when he broke out the 90's. My expectation is not fulfilled with 'Born Villain', because now he sounds both weary and uninspired.

There are several tracks where he shines on and whisper - screams out some sharp text lines thru the corners of his mouth. I think of the depressive rockers in Joy Division, Sisters Of Mercy and Nine Inch Nails in many of the tracks. Deep, heavy drums and hard bass sound and very electro-industrial metal rhythm turns this 'comeback' album into a turn back to the influences he had in his beginning of his career. I can't say that I'm the hardest Marilyn Manson fan on the earth, but he is still a one of the biggest attractions and personalities on the metal music scene. He will come to Europe this summer and he will play in Scandinavia in June.

Well, 'BV' starts off with the potent and heavy song 'Hey, Cruel World' where Marilyn Manson kicks and screams like a young rebel. With superb back-up from the band the first half is really tasteful, but the uneven (read low) standard in the middle attracts me to press the skip button several times. 'No Reflection' is another monster song in good old steel fashion rock style. 'The Gardener' is the best track on the album and with some vocal delicacies and tasty rhythmic and hard drums that got stuck in my mind. I must mention the last song ' You're So Vain', which is a cover of the Carly Simon song, and it features the actor Johnny Depp on the guitar.

Overall is this a 'must buy' album for the most faithful fans, but I can't give it more than an OK score.

01. Hey, Cruel World
No Reflection
Pistol Whipped
Overneath the Path of Misery
The Gardener
The Flowers of Evil
Children of Cain
Lay Down Your Goddamn Arms
Murderers Are Getting Prettier Every Day
12. Born Villain
13. Breaking the Same Old Ground
14. You're So Vain
Label: Vertigo
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Artwork rating: 92/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 9 May, 2012
Website: www.marilynmanson.com