Style: Thrash
Release date: 7 August, 2012
Playing time: 53:37

Hoglan? DiGiorgio? Santolla? Wow, this sounds like a super-group that's too good to be true! A dream thrash metal outfit of sorts, one should think. The troupe is lead by Greek guitarist Ilias Papadakis and fronted by Canadian singer Chris Valagao (probably best known from Zimmer's Hole), who does an excellent job, by the way. Very old-school voice, very cool.

'Evolution' has a distinct early to mid nineties feel. Forbidden isn't far away stylistically, or in fact, the second great wave of US thrash metal as a whole seems to be the inspirational source, and that's a good thing! Nations On Fire starts the headbanger's ball, from there on, the album is a tour de force of up-tempo thrash metal, galopping bass runs, majestic drumming and with a rifforama supreme.

Notably, Papadakis has also been able to muster a number of highly esteemed guest musicians for the project: Dave Ellefson has contributed to the songs A New Era and Rules Of Engagement, Ripper Owens has co-written and added his distinctive vocal performance to the latter-mentioned tune. Moreover, Annihilator mastermind Jeff Waters has adorned A New Era with a solo.

If you like full-speed-ahead thrash metal as it was twenty years ago, you shouldn't miss this release. It's potent, powerful and done by people who were there. Solid-as-rock metal, that's what this is!

01. Nations On Fire
02. Where Hate Lies
03. The Break
04. Circle
05. Misery
06. Rules Of Engagement
07. Death Shop
08. Destiny Found
09. A New Era
10. Power Out
11. Scratching The Surface (5th Hour)
12. Methods Of The Past
Label: Maple Metal Records
Promotion: Maple Metal Records
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 28 October, 2012