Power of Metal.dk Review

Million Dollar Reload
A Sinner's Saint
Style: Melodic Hard Rock
Release date: 29 June, 2012
Playing time: 47:08

Genuine basic rock 'n' roll music with influences from US rockbands like Aerosmith etc. is what Million Dollar Reload, from Belfast in Northern Ireland has packed into this disc called 'A Sinner's Saint'. They have one album from 2008 - 'Anthem of a Degeneration' on their neck (available on Spotify) and if you like what you hear on the debut album, I'm pretty sure that you will love this piece. Nothing new on the horizon.

Stabile guitar playing with nice hooks, groovy drums and a swinging pace throughout the disc is how I shortly can describe the basic rock sound from the Northern Irish five-piece rocking band. Singer Phil Conlon has a wonderfully long and drawn-out tone in his coarse-grained rock & roll voice that gives that little extra to an otherwise pretty toothless and plain CD.

I've heard this kind of straight forward rock 'n' roll in an dusty American cowboy boot and leather pant style before, so this isn't something original or so in the sound-picture. If you are a fan of glam/sleaze rock this is something you can appreciate. I can't say that this is bad album, because in the right environment, the disc is perfect for a party with lots of cold beer, very high volume on your stereo, on a late one summer night, but as a musical technical work, this disc may be only a parenthesis in the rock history books.

The score is rescued by the energy and the true love for their work that I feel in the songs, more that the technical skills. I would love to see these guys live, because it's rock music that fits like a hand in the glove on a small, smoky pub on a late Saturday evening. ROCK 'N' ROLL!!

The tracks that are worth an extra line is: "Bullet in the Sky", "Blow Me Away", "Headrush" and "Fight the System".

Million Dollar Reload: Phil Conlon - Vocals, Andy Mackle - Guitars, Brian Mallon - Guitars, Kie McMurray - Bass and Sean McKernan - Drums.

01. Fight the System
Bullets in the Sky
Blow Me Away
Can't Tie Me Down
I Am the Rapture
Smoke 'N Mirrors
Pretty People
It Ain't Over
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 91/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 15 June, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/milliondollarreload