Power of Metal.dk Review

Center of the Great Unknown
Style: Melodic Metal
Release date: 12 October, 2012
Playing time: 48:00

I vaguely remember, many years ago, corresponding with Magica when the band was still in its embryonic stage. During our short-lived acquaintance I do recall there being a mutual passion for epic Melodic Metal. One decade and 7 albums later, the band still seems to possess a penchant for epic drama.


“Centre of the Great Unknown” is a concept album even though the album’s dynamics wouldn’t suggest there being any concept (all tracks are 4-minute-average vocal compositions). In a nutshell the story concerns a fantastic voyage to the centre of the Earth.


Magica are fronted by Ana Mladinovici, who is gifted with an excellent and solid voice. At times, though, I had the impression that her unconvincing diction and phrasing of the English language was weakening the impact of her singing. Sure enough, she sounds at her best in the bonus track, ‘Daca 2012’, which has lyrics in the band’s native Romanian language.


But that’s not the only good track in “Centre…”. For instance ‘Mark of Cain’ is well-balanced with memorable riffs, catchy melodies and effective guitar solos. ‘No Horizon’ is an anthemic gem that effortlessly draws you into the music.


As such “Centre of the Great Unknown” brings nothing new to the genre of female-fronted Melodic Metal but what Magica do they do well and fans of the genre will doubtlessly appreciate this album.

01. Center of the Great Unknown
02. Masterspell
03. King of the World
04. Open
05. The Earth is Young??
06. Step into the Night
07. No Horizon
08. One Angry Gaia
09. Mark of Cain
10. Under the Auroras

11. Daca 2012 (bonus track)
Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 100/100
Reviewed by: Chris Galea
Date: 2 October, 2012
Website: www.magicaband.net