Power of Metal.dk Review

Army of the Damned
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 30 March, 2012
Playing time: 50:39

Often you can hear that LONEWOLF are the French version of RUNNING WILD. Even if I want to argue about this (and I do not) the opening track from “Army of the Damned” should discourage me. 

The agglutinate around Jens Borner (vocals, guitars) has achieved a result that with no reservations or explanations could be named power metal. The evident influence from the archetype RUNNING WILD is enriched with more harmonic melodies. The hoarse vocals do not hesitate at all. The acoustic and quieter passages could not take the power away from the music. Metal fire flows in the songs of LONEWOLF.

The lyrics complete the whole picture… The band passed through showiness, historic interpretations and mysticism and today they sing metal hymns. The less abstract messages make the music itself full of marches and odes. There is such convincingness as if it was created by MANOWAR. Musically this is supported by contemporary sound in the spirit of SABATON and Celtic-Nordic harmonies in the blood of BLIND GUARDIAN. This master-piece created by 11 parts is a combination of fast aggressive-melodic songs and middle-tempo epic marches.

If you haven't heard about LONEWOLF and then this is contemporary hyper-flow of information turned into an informational noise where the quality does not matter. The new label of the band has picked up a diamond from the world of heavy metal. And this release of these Frenchmen is the top of a remarkable, as a whole, discography.


01. Lonewolf
02. Crawling To Hell
03. Army Of The Damned
04. Hellbent For Metal
05. Soulreapers
06. Celtic Heart
07. The Last Defenders
08. Cold
09. The One You Never See
10. Tally Ho
11. One Second In Eternity

Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Maria D.S.
Date: 22 July, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/metalonewolf