Lay Down Rotten
Mask of Malice
Style: Death Metal
Release date: 27 February, 2012
Playing time: 37:13

The band's sixth album in 12 years and there has been a line up change. In 2011 founding member Daniel Jakobi left the band. Guitarist Daniel Seifert (ex-Sencirow, ex-Sarx) has replaced him and I have to say that this album has a little bit more variety. I don't know if Mr. Seifert already had a lot of influence on the songwriting, but listening to the songs I intend to say: yes he has.

The music is still influenced heavily by Swedish death combos. There is more variety however, more tempo changes, mid tempos, solo's, a bit more melody and that all packed in brutal songs. Jos Kleinert grunts it all together and has a sound that fits the music, but he varies too little in my opinion. After a while it all sounds a bit the same. I don't know exactly why, but sometimes the band Benediction enters my mind, but I can't really figure out why. Is it because of the singing, some riffs, or a combination?

One thing is clear; this German death combo has made a nice record that will be liked by many. If you like Unleashed, Dismember, and Benediction etc. you should try it out.


01. Deathchain
02. A Darker Shade of Hatred
03. Nightfall
04. Mask of Malice
05. ...and Out Come the Wolves
06. Swallow the Bitterness
07. Hades Resurrected
08. The Devil Grins
09. La Serpenta Canta
10. The Loss

Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 20 February, 2012