The Coils of Apollyon
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: 21 September, 2012
Playing time: 47:30

If you have a weak spot for traditional heavy metal, you'd probably be familiar with this band from India. Kryptos was formed in 1998 and this 'The Coils of Apollyon' is their third release. The band has already opened for bands like Iron Maiden, Dark Tranquility, Kreator and Amon Amarth.

They are inspired by the eighties metal bands like Iron Maiden and Judas Priest. On top of that they put some edgy thrash riffs and a more aggressive vocalist. Especially the nice guitar harmonies and soli are very Maiden like. Due to a good modern production, the band never sounds ancient and old-fashioned. The tempo of the songs is fast and a band like 3 Inches of Blood do at times also enter my mind. You can hear that the band didn't start just yesterday, the song writing is very good and the individual songs are each of the same high standard. The only thing that could have been a little better is the singing of Nolan Lewis. He sounds a little too average and after a while his vocals can't keep me focused. They are not exciting and interesting enough to entertain me for a complete album.

All in all, this third album is an interesting piece and certainly a must for the traditional eighties melodic metal fans.


01. The Mask of Anubis
02. The Coils of Apollyon
03. Serpent Mage
04. Nexus Legion
05. Eternal Crimson Spires
06. Spellcraft
07. Starfall
08. Vision of Dis
09. The Isle of Voices

Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 22 September, 2012