Power of Metal.dk Review

From the Depths
Style: Modern Death Metal
Release date: 2 July, 2012
Playing time: 48:05

I humbly define Karybdis' style as modern death metal, with a touch of Swedish school for the groove, through the prism of UK metal underground scene, with metalcore, thrash, and a hint of classical music. Karybdis can mix oil and water, boosted by Russ Russells production (Napalm Death, Evile, Dimmu Borgir and many more).

"From the Depths", it is 10 sharp songs, composed with talent, built with solid riffs, catchy and epic as in "Arson Aesthetics", with unexpected and cool breaks, here and there.
I invite you to check what stands back Χάρυβδις in the greek mythology, and you will understand why the quintet was smart taking this name, for the lyrics of course, and for the music indeed.
I guess I have a new "guten Morgen!" CD to start my days at Wacken 2012. Be ready to drown in whirlpools of metal.

01. Minotaur
02. From the Depths
03. Without Wings
04. Arson Aesthetics
05. Worth It
06. I Say
07. Medusa
08. Maelstrom
09. The Hourglass
10. Deathtoll
Label: Independent
Promotion: Hold Tight PR
Reviewed by: Philippe Leconte
Date: 25 July, 2012
Website: www.karybdis.com