Power of Metal.dk Review

Kotipelto & Liimatainen
Style: Acoustic Rock
Release date: 19 October, 2012
Playing time: 55:36

Timo Kotipelto (Stratovarius) and Jani Liimatainen (ex-Sonata Arctica) have joined forces to record a fine selection of Stratovarius classics, Kotipelto solo songs, a couple of cover versions and a brand new song, all recorded in Timo's cottage, just the two of them.

Actually the very complex Stratovarius songs work surprisingly well given the new acoustic treatment, and the new arrangements and setting bring new life into the songs. I think a song like "Hunting High and Low" works fine live on stage, but on this album it sounds and feels totally different, in a positive way. The acoustic settings means that focus quite naturally is on the strong melodies and the vocals and both musicians shine here.

The cover-versions; Gary Moore's "Out in the Fields", The Who's "Behind Blue Eyes" (most be one the most covered songs ever) and Deep Purple's "Perfect Strangers" all fit in the set just fine and provides us with a little something extra. The duo will take the album out on the road, so if they swing by, do go see them.

A surprisingly good album, not just for fans of Kotipelto. So if you like acoustic rock then I suggest you give this one a chance...

01. Sleep Well
02. Out in the Fields
03. Black Diamond
04. My Selene
05. Behind Blue Eyes
06. Hunting High and Low
07. Where My Rainbow Ends
08. Speed of Light
09. Perfect Strangers
10. Coming Home
11. Serenity
12. Rainbow Eyes
13. Karjalan Kunnailla
Label: earMUSIC
Distribution: Playground Music
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 13 October, 2012
Website: www.kotipelto.com