In Aevum Agere
The Shadow Tower
Style: Power/Doom Metal
Release date: 7 December, 2012
Playing time: 54:02

This is Bruno Masulli's (Loadstar, Power Beyond, Annihilationmancer) doom project. Bruno is responsible for the vocals, bass and guitar on this album. Andrea Cannata (drums) and lead guitarist Marco Ruggiero complete this three piece line-up.

You don't need to be a rocket scientist to hear their influences. After a short intro, opener "The Shadow Tower" reveals it immediately; Candlemass and Solitude Aeturnus are the bands that pop-up. The melancholy singing style of Bruno is almost similar to that of Messiah Marcolin and Rob Lowe. Especially the lower dramatically parts. The two best singers in this genre you can be compared with, but that also has a shadow side. Because of that, there is the danger to be served off as a Candlemass rip-off. In a certain way this album isn't a lot different from a Candlemass album, but by adding a bit more tempo and faster guitar riffs, they are just a little different.

"Iniquitous Judgement" is more in a kind of Memory Garden style, a bit faster and with nice riffs. "Act of Faith" is a song based on a riff that could have been written by Tony Iommy. The basic tempo of the songs is rather slow, but due to the thrashy guitar riffs the songs keep interesting. "Dominio" is the most dramatically melancholy track on the album, with female singing involved and opera influences. "Silent" is a soft track with only vocals accompanied by a clean electric guitar, for me the least interesting track. The last track "Son of Unknown" is the heaviest track on the album. The riff in that song has a kind of Slayer sound and the song is a real song to bang your head to.

Fans that regret there isn't going to be a new Candlemass album will certainly be happy about this Italian doom masters. A nice present for under the Christmas tree.


01. Umbra Vitae
02. The Shadow Tower
03. Leave Me Alone
04. Iniquitous Judgement
05. The Last Farewell
06. Act of Faith
07. Dominio
08. Silent
09. Poema Illusorio
10. Ire of Solitude
11. Son of Unknown

Label: Pure Steel Records
Distribution: Pure Steel Records
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 7 December, 2012