Hooded Menace
Effigies of Evil
Style: Doom/Death Metal
Release date: 11 September, 2012
Playing time: 52:36

The slowliness of Winter and Cathedral, the riffs of Asphyx, the brutality of Autopsy and influences of Amorphis and early Paradise Lost. Those are the main ingredients in the sound of this Finnish band. Lasse Pyykkö (guitars, bass and vocals) and Pekka Koskelo (drums) are the only two members.

The music is slow, gloomy, groovy, brutal and grim. The vocals are low guttural ones and the songs are creepy crawling forwards. The tempo of the songs sounds like a steady marching horde of mastodons and together with the groovy cruel riffs and the vocals of Lasse you get a creepy and morbid feeling. Fans of very brutal death/doom metal will not sleep until they have their own copy. If you think that Candlemass is doom, you haven't heard to Hooded Menace yet!

Some things need to be fast, other things need to be slow; like Hooded Menace.


01. Vortex Macabre
02. Effigies of Evil
03. In the Dead We Dwell
04. Curses Scribed in Gore
05. Crumbling Insanity
06. Summoned into Euphoric Madness
07. Evoken Vulgarity
08. Retribution in Eternity

Label: Relapse Records
Distribution: Cosmos
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 8 September, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/hoodedmenace