Holy Moses
In the Power of Now (30th Anniversary)
Style: Thrash
Release date: 20 April, 2012
Playing time: 82:37

To celebrate their 30th anniversary Holy Moses re-recorded 20 of their songs and 2 new tracks ("Borderland" and "Entering the Now"). Younger readers who think that Angela Gossow invented the angry growling female singing is wrong. Sabina Classen (and Dawn Crosby) already showed that when Angela was still pissing her diapers.

Recording old songs again has two sides. The better production is a positive point and the development of the musicians sees to it that this time the songs sound tighter than on the first albums. A negative point is that it all sounds a bit the same. The difference in sound and production gave more variety between the several albums. So the sound is better, but after the first disc, it is getting a little bit boring. The vocals with almost no variety in singing by Sabina are responsible for that too.

Together with Destruction, Kreator and Sodom, Holy Moses was one of the first German thrash bands and they have always had a certain fan base, but never got the same popularity like the first two. The reason for that is, that Holy Moses is just a regular thrash band with regular songs. If I ask you to mention a popular Destruction or Kreator song, you will immediately say "Mad Butcher" or "Flag of Hate", but asking the same question about Holy Moses, what will you answer?

Holy Moses is an average thrash band with average songs and if you are a fan, you will certainly appreciate the old songs with new sound. For those of you, who don't know the band yet, this is the chance to get to know their repertoire.


Disc One:
01. Clash My Soul

02. Jungle of Lies
03. Finished With the Dogs
04. Symbol of Spirit
05. World Chaos
06. SSP
07. Borderland
08. Lost in the Maze
09. Walpurgisnight
10. Welcome to the Real World
11. Near Dark

Disc Two:
01.  Reborn Dogs
02.  Def Con II
03.  I Feel Sick
04.  Nothing for My Mum
05.  Disorder of the Order
06.  Corroded Dreams
07.  Entering the Now
08.  Creation of Violation
09.  Panic
10. Decapitated Minds
11. Master of Disaster

Label: Steamhammer/SPV
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 8 May, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/holymosesgermany