Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Progressive Rock/Metal
Release date: 27 March, 2012
Playing time: 79:42

Hemina is a progressive rock/metal act from Australian formed in 2008. The band released an EP "As We Know It" in 2010, which included 3 tracks "For All Wrong Reasons", "And Now to Find a Friend" and "With What I See", which are among the 11 songs on this album.

All songs are mixed and mastered by the wizard hands on Tommy Hansen (Jailhouse Studio). Comparing to the EP, the sound has matured into a crystal clear sound, which allows all instruments and vocals to show off their fully potential.

The debut release is a concept album and tells a 79 minute story about a life of an angel born onto the world. It is told through the dynamic and powerful voice by Douglas Skene.

Their sound can be described as very melodic and progressive with some little use of extreme sounds like growling. Though the clean vocals still has the main focus on the album. Front man Skene has an unbelievable range from very deep, almost identical to Peter Steele from Type O Negative, to a very controlled and high pitched voice. The growl fits perfectly into the songs and together with the clean vocals, keyboard tunes and the shredding guitars, helps setting the mood and atmosphere of the entire album.

It never gets to technical with too many odd time signatures, guitar solos compared to bands like prog maestros Dream Theater, but still enough to keep the attention from the listener. Each song is well written and skillfully performed by each member of the band.

The track "Hunting is for Women" is standing out among the other tracks on this release. In the beginning tribal sounding drums are pounding with Skene’s voice haunting in the front. The shredding guitars kick in with a beautifully performed guitar solo that almost "explodes”. The following track "Even in Heaven" is introduced with some heavy guitar tunes, and has some of the best melodic vocals with Skene and Jessica in the middle of the song. Then the guitar goes into a frenzy shredding, accompanied by amazing keyboard shredding tunes and guitar solos.

A follow up to the debut will please our ears sometime during 2013, and Hemina has definitely set high expectations for the next release with this debut.

Well done Hemina.

01. This Hour of Ours
02. To Conceive a Plan
03. The Boy is Dead
04. For All Wrong Reasons
05. And Now to Find a Friend
06. With What I See
07. Hunting is for Women
08. Even in Heaven
09. Conduit to the Sky
10. Haunting Me!
11. Divine
Label: Nightmare Records
Distribution: Nightmare Records
Reviewed by: Tommy Skøtt
Date: 3 March, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/heminaaus