30 Years of Hel
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 31 August, 2012
Playing time: 75:14

Bobby Blitz of Overkill and James Rivera are for me two of the vocalists that have impressed me the most the last 30 years. With their dedication, fighting spirit and charisma they became icons in the metal scene without being the best vocalists. James Rivera started in 1982 with Helstar and recorded several albums. Several times he put Helstar in the fridge, meanwhile releasing records with bands like Distant Thunder and Destiny's End. Sometimes he 'joined' known bands like Vicious Rumors, Seven Witches and Malice to sing on their albums and he also performed live with Flotsam and Jetsam.

A very busy man. But Helstar is his baby and finally in 2008 the band released the come-back album 'The King of Hell', this record contains some of the best Helstar songs to date. With their last album 'Glory of Chaos' they underlined that the band is still current and fresh like in the early years. Finally after 30 years they release a DVD + 2-CD-set.

There are tracks of every album on this DVD. Their weakest album 'Multiples in Black' with 1 track, their last album with 4 tracks and from 'Burning Star', 'Remnants of War', 'A Distant Thunder', 'Nosferatu' and 'The King of Hell' all 3. At powerofmetal.dk we only received the music and not the DVD, so I can't say anything about the performance and the stage acting. The songs sound rather authentic and you hear that James isn't the best live vocalist around, personally I rather put on the original songs instead of the live ones.

I decided for myself that I am not going to review a live-album anymore if I don't get the DVD. What on earth can I tell about the music more than I already did above? I want to see the performance, that is the benefit of a DVD, the songs I already know and on the album they mostly sound better too!


01. Angels Fall to Hell
02. Towards the Unknown
03. Suicidal Nightmare
04. The King is Dead
05. Burning Star
06. To Sleep Per Chance to Scream
07. The Plague Called Man
08. Evil Reign
09. Monarch of Bloodshed
10. Winds of War
11. Good Day to Die
12. Wicked Disposition
13. Pandemonium
14. Bitter End
15. Harker's Tale (Mass of Death)
16. Angel of Death
17. Baptized in Blood
18. Alma Negra
19. The King of Hell
20. Run With the Pack

Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 28 August, 2012
Website: www.helstar.com