Style: Pagan Metal
Release date: 2 March, 2012
Playing time: 39:45

Heathpeople probably isn't a proper English word, but that's what Heidevolk means. This is their fourth full length and there has been a little style change compared to their 2010 record "Uit Oude Grond". It's heavier, more metal, but without losing the folk and epic parts. Even some black metal influences like in the track "Het Verbond met Rome" fits it perfectly.

The dual vocal parts that we know from Heidevolk are still there, but the execution results in better and stronger songs. A lot of folk metal bands have a little childish character and I did also have that feeling a little bit with Heidevolk. It was just like you didn't take them all too serious. But with this new album I never get that feeling, they've matured and this is just a good simple metal album with folk influences.

Perhaps some of you might snap off because of the Dutch lyrics, but although I'm Dutch, I am sure that you will not have a problem with it at all. Therefore the music is too good. Just to help you understand : "'Batavi' is a concept album that deals with the early history of the Batavian tribe: from its beginning to its daring revolt against one of the greatest empires the world has ever seen. Set against the backdrop of war, alliances, intrigue and betrayal, the nine songs relate to the struggle of a people needing to redefine themselves in order to survive this turbulent time". 

The lyrics certainly add something to the record, but even without understanding them, the album is worth to listening to. Well done!


01. Een Nieuw Begin
02. De Toekomst Lonkt
03. Het Verbond Met Rome
04. Wapenbroeders
05. In Het Woud Gezworen
06. Veleda
07. Als de Dood Weer Naar Ons Lacht
08. Einde Der Zege

Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 27 February, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/officialheidevolk