Grand Supreme Blood Court
Bow Down Before the Blood Court
Style: Death Metal
Release date: 12 November, 2012
Playing time: 49:01

All Rise! Entering the court are Grand Magistrate Bagchus, the firing squad and coffin drums commander. Followed by Grand Judge Daniels carrying his axe wielding beheader guitar. Grand Prosecutor van Drunen will give the verdicts in his own growling and howling style. To support judge Daniels, Grand Registrar Zuur is invited carrying his blood runes and flesh-saw guitar. Finally Grand Executioner van Eekelen walks in, with, in his hands his slaying bass. Observing this entrance, the audience doesn't dare to make any sound fearing for their lives.

Based on a historical event the band created a fictive story around the blood court myth. A trial where the suspects already were sentenced to death, but not yet how. The court needed to decide in which way they should be killed. Death metal fans already recognized the names of the musicians, playing in bands like Asphyx and Hail of Bullets. For the younger readers Eric Daniels could be an unknown name. He however was a member of Asphyx 'till the year 2000. He chose for a social career and a more secure existence back then, but now he is back.

The lot of the music has been written by Eric, together with Alwin and it is pure old school death metal. The hypnotizing bass and the boosting drums give an extra drive to the songs and they vary in tempo between doom and unparalleled rhythms. For sure you will find musical resemblances with Asphyx and/or Hail of Bullets, but you can't conclude that this album is just an extract from one of these bands. You probably can conclude that all 3 play old school death metal and with the sickening vocals of Martin van Drunen and the buzz-saw riffs of Daniels and Zuur, they all fish in the same tank.

Soon it will be Christmas, but I can advice you to put this one on your list of suggested gifts. For those, who believe in the Maya calendar; buy it immediately so you can watch the end of the world listening to the Blood Court!


01. All Rise!
02. Bow Down Before the Blood Court
03. There Shall Be No Acquittance
04. Veredictum Sanguis
05. Behead the Defence
06. Grand Justice, Grand Pain (Instrumental)
07. Feed to the Boas
08. Circus of Mass Torment
09. Public Castration
10. Piled Up for the Scavengers
11. ...And Thus the Billions Shall Burn

Label: Century Media
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 12 November, 2012