Within the Shadow of Darkness - The Complete Recordings
Style: Death Metal
Release date: 24 September, 2012
Playing time: 109:00

Swedish obscure death metal band Gorement have signed a worldwide deal with Century Media for the release of the band's entire recordings. The first CD contains songs from their 1994 album 'The Ending Quest'. The second CD contains songs of the several demos and the EP 'Into Shadows'. All the songs have been re-mastered from the original master tapes by Dan Swanö.

This compilation will be liked by the fans of the band and those who like rather obscure death metal. The production and sound on the first CD is rather digestible for your ears, but on the second CD you can hear that it is demo songs. It all sounds rather ancient and old school. Dan Swanö has certainly done his utmost to pimp them up, but even he can't change a Fiat into a Ferrari.

After a few songs, my interest faded away and personally I don't need 3 versions of just one track like for example "Darkness of the Dead". Especially the 4 live tracks have a very rotten sound. If they didn't tell me that the last 2 live tracks are "Exhume to Consume" and "Blood, Pus and Gastric Juice" of Carcass and Pungent Stench, I wouldn't have recognized them.

For fans and for those who are into a combination of early Paradise Lost, Grave, Carcass and Cathedral and don't care about the sound on this album, it is a nice piece of music.


CD 1:
My Ending Quest
02. Vale of Tears
03. Human Relic
04. The Memorial
05. The Lost Breed
06. Silent Hymn (For the Dead)
07. Sea of Silence
08. Obsequies of Mankind
09. Darkness of the Dead
10. Into the Shadows

CD 2:
01. Intro
02. Darkness of the Dead
03. Human Relic
04. Moulder Within
05. Intro
06. Process of Cent
07. Gruesome Modification of Form
08. Obsequies of Mankind
09. The Memorial
10. Into Shadows
11. Garden of Delight
12. Profound Harmony
13. Soulless Sanity
14. Gruesome Modification of Form (live)
15. Obsequies of Mankind (live)
16. Darkness of the Dead (live)
17. Exhume to Consume (live)
18. Blood, Pus and Gastric Juice (live)

Label: Century Media
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 19 September, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/gorement