Blood for the Master
Style: Blackened Death Metal
Release date: 13 February, 2012
Playing time: 38:11

I was already rather positive about their 2009 release 'Carving out the Eyes of God' and after listening to this new album I have to conclude that I like this one even better. The crunchy guitar work reminding of Hellhammer/Celtic Frost is still there and the music sounds even faster and more aggressive than before.

The band uses influences of punk, death metal, black and even some Bay Area thrash. The tempo is most of the time very high, but they have written some excellent variable songs and that's the reason why it never becomes boring. If you compare this record with its predecessor, you can conclude that there is more melody in the guitars. What impressed me the most is the heavy guitar riffs. Just listen to "Embodiment of this Bitter Chaos" and you might recognize some Pantera in the song.

The thrash fans will be very pleased with "Death to the Architects of Heaven", which sounds like a fucked up Bay Area track and "An End to Nothing" will make you shake your head for certain. The last track reminds me a bit of Immortal. Aggressive music has to be like Goatwhore produces it; a crunchy and mean guitar sound, a vocalist with a very aggressive bite and variety in the songs. This is probably the first album of 2012 that might end up on my end of this year list, if we are still alive by then.


01. Collapse in Eternal Worth
02. When Steel and Bone Meet
03. Parasitic Scriptures of the Sacred Word
04. In Deathless Tradition
05. Judgment of the Bleeding Crown
06. Embodiment of this Bitter Chaos
07. Beyond the Spell of Discontent
08. Death to the Architects of Heaven
09. An End to Nothing
10. My Name is Frightful Among the Believers

Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 8 February, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/goatwhore