Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Melodic Hard Rock
Release date: 24 March, 2012
Playing time: 55:50

Progressive, heavy metal with classic rock influences in a tight and solid production is my impressions from UK based 'Furyon'. This is their debut album from 2010, but now with Frontiers Records behind them and ... damn it, it's a superb first full-length disc they release in 'Gravitas'.

They have 2 guitarists, who creates some fat licks and hooks and together with the characteristic singer Matt Mitchell, makes this sound like a mix of American southern rock (think Buckcherry) and Black Label Society with Chris Cornell on vocals. They play in the Soundgarden and Alice In Chains genre, but blends it with some old school British HM and they do it with an amazing skilfulness. Not so unique or special, but really exiting and promising.

The tracks are extremely well written and the true passion and energy is present in all the tunes. The character of the music is simply: long hair, a few days old beard, dusty worn jeans with oil spills on the old brown dusty boots. Only catchy and groovy songs in the track-list, with no middle or filling tracks makes Furyon one of the hot and new bands we must have in mind on the big festivals this summer, because here we have a band with absolute star-power. I hope that I will hear more from these guys, because this is a strong debut.

The band: Matt Mitchell (Vocals), Chris Green (Guitars), Pat Heath (Guitars), Alex "Nickel" Bowen (Bass) and Lee Farmery (Drums).

01. Disappear Again
02. Stand Like A Stone

03. Souvenirs

04. Don't Follow

05. New Way Of Living

06. Voodoo Me
07. Fear Alone
08. Wasted On You

09. Our Peace Someday

10. Desert Suicide
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 78/100 (Optional)
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 7 March, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/furyon