Power of Metal.dk Review

In Via
Style: New Art Rock
Release date: 20 April, 2012
Playing time: 57:52

A small movement of pure instrumental rock bands has arisen over the past few years in Germany, and Frames is to me the cream of the crop. I know most people would pick Long Distance Calling over them in most cases, but to me this is the band that deserves the attention.

They have managed something LDC haven't; to get my attention throughout an entire album! The fundamental melancholic feeling the songs portrays is captivating and grabs your attention throughout the ten song presented. The atmospheric songs are versatile and innovative, and I must admit my scepticism beforehand was quickly swept away by Frames.

But mind you, this is still an instrumental album, with the exception of a few spoken words parts, and surely not for anyone. But listen to it with an open mind, take the time to fully appreciate the structures and sounds, and this might just be the instrumental album you need to buy this year...

01. Entrance
02. Departure
03. Encounter
04. Calm Wisdom
05. Stir
06. Reflections
07. Eris
08. Don't Stay Here
09. End of a Decade
10. Coda
Label: Steamhammer/SPV
Distribution: Playground Music
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 19 May, 2012
Website: www.framesmusic.com