Style: Power Metal
Release date: 3 December, 2012
Playing time: 71:47

Beautiful artwork made by Swedish artist Monowasp, recorded at the Copenhagen-based Earplug Studio and mixed and produced at Denmark's Medley Studios by Soren Andersen. What more can we ask for? Good music and well arranged songs..... and does Forcentury deliver? Yes they do! They have really topped their 2009 release 'Vanguard'.

The guitars sound heavier, the keyboard parts fit in perfectly and the mix of AOR sounding parts, progressive elements and power metal sounds very natural. They create a dark sounding melancholy atmosphere that puts them miles away from the more happy sounding power metal acts. Johnn Thunder has developed his singing and I'm a lot more impressed than I was on the 'Vanguard' album. The songs are all rather long, but never get boring. Like "Outcast", a progressive song with some fast parts, very AOR sounding refrains but also with some 70's sounding keyboard parts in it. You can hear that Forcentury is influenced by Iron Maiden in the twin-guitar battles in some of the tracks.

After a Maiden-like sounding intro the galloping up tempo power metal track "The Shroud" increases the tempo. Another heavy and fast track is "Beyond Recognition", a track filled with nice (old) Metallica/Megadeth sounding thrash riffs. With Johnn's powerful singing on top and the fabulous keyboard part half-way, one of the songs I like most. A good and promising band can write nice ballads too. With "Safe Haven" Forcentury proves that they are in control on that part also.

Forcentury found a perfect mix of power metal, AOR and progressive metal. Put Helloween, Iron Maiden, Pagan's Mind, Europe, Kamelot and Metallica in a blender and it will lead to something like this. Anubis Gate, Manticora and Pyramaze are the most known Danish progressive power metal bands, but I think it will only be a matter of time before Forcentury will overtake them.

Very impressive! Check them out!


01. Seal of the Sinner
02. Outcast
03. Ashen
04. The Shroud
05. Repercussions of Terror
06. Beyond Recognition
07. Safe Haven
08. The Lust the Desire and the Temptation
09. The Reductionist
10. Changing Ways

Label: Mighty Music
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 1 December, 2012