Fatum Aeternum
This Dream Is Dead
Style: Supposedly Goth Metal
Release date: 2011
Playing time: 44:00

When someone like me receives a CD by an Israeli goth metal band, my attention is immediately awoken. The promo letter promises a blend of styles united in goth metal, violins, female vocals and a demanding listening experience.

I can second the latter claim. It's demanding to work your way through the 44 long minutes this debut album lasts. And it's not a good thing. Apart from the beforementioned female vocalist, 'This Dream Is Dead' is a test of the ears and ones patience. It sounds awfully contrived and heads off in multiple directions without ever tying the knots properly together.

As you can see, I'm not a fan. For me, this tends to be a rape of the goth metal genre, but, hey, you might like it. I dare you; try it.


01. Sadness
02. Hate
03. False Freedom
04. Revelation
05. Alive
06. Prelude
07. Sacrifice Of Love
08. Apocalypse Now
09. Evidence
10. Resurrection Of Me
11. Lullaby
12. At The End
13. Confession

Label: Independent
Promotion: Infinite Metal
Artwork rating: 20/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 18 December, 2012
Website: www.fatum-aeternum.com