Requiem for the Indifferent
Style: Symphonic Gothic Metal
Release date: 9 March, 2012
Playing time: 72:52

After Finland with Nightwish, the Netherlands is surely the second country known for its female fronted (gothic) metal bands. Within Temptation, After Forever, Delain, Autumn, The Gathering and off course Epica are the most well known.

If you like their previous album 'Design Your Universe' you don't need to read any further, just buy this new album. After a bombastic intro "Monopoly on Truth" opens rather fast and the standard has been set. The grunt/clean singing vocal combination and beautiful choirs like on the song "Delirium" are a blessing for your ears. Front woman Simone Simons still increases her vocal performance, in the higher regions, but also in the lower ones.

Every know and then Epica serves a little resting point, like the piano part "Anima". Just when you start to doze off on the beautiful piano tunes, the most heavy song "Guilty Demeanor" wakes you up. To mention a favorite or best song is impossible, they are all of high quality. Technical riffs, nice keyboard parts, superb drumming, piano parts, choirs and good vocals are the ingredients of this album. Fans of Therion should also take a listen, because I think they will be pleased by this album too.

Mark Janssen, Isaac Delahaye, Yves Huts, Coen Janssen, AriŽn van Weesenbeek and Simone Simons have made an almost perfect album and if I tell you that Sascha Paeth was responsible for the production, I can rest my case.


01. Karma
02. Monopoly On Truth
03. Storm the Sorrow
04. Delirium
05. Internal Warfare
06. Requiem for the Indifferent
07. Anima
08. Guilty Demeanor
09. Deep Water Horizon
10. Stay the Course
11. Deter the Tyrant
12. Avalanche
13. Serenade of Self-Destruction

Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Warner Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 2 March, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/epica