The Acoustic
Style: Acoustic Metal
Release date: 17 February, 2012
Playing time: 46:00

Hey, this is a band that I haven't paid much attention to. The biggest metal band in Hungary, I reckon, and since I saw them a With Full Force in 2005, a band I always considered very little else than a Soulfly clone band. Since I've never been a big fan of Soulfly, I honestly disregarded these Hungarians right there.

I thought 'what the heck' when the email came round with the usual list of albums for review and none of my PoM colleagues volunteered, 'why not give it a shot and hear what Ektomorf has become?'

On the positive side, the Hungarian crew fronted by singer/guitarist Zoli don't just sound like Soulfly anymore. They cannot run away from the influence, and this is clear even on this acoustic album which apparently is the continuation of a popular single from their previous album, 'Redemption'.

(Semi-)acoustic metal has been seen before in the history of music, and it can turn out heavy as hell. It does for the most part on 'The Acoustic'. Opener I Know Them is a great track, whereas I'm in Hate is less fortunate. Be Free is also alright, whereas Redemption has turned out a trifle repetitive.

The Lynyrd Skynyrd cover Simple Man is a nice ditty where Zoli shows that he can more than just scream. To Smoulder continues in the same style, but fails to really ignite.

Covering the grand master of dark music, Johnny Cash, can be a bit tricky, but with Folsom Prison Blues, Ektomorf by a reasonable enough job without blowing away the man himself.

Again also fails to hit the grade and reminds me to a scaring degree of Poison's Every Rose Has It's Thorn. That's not really a compliment.

Through Your Eyes is much more alive and playful, and is among the best tunes of the album, whereas Fate falls into a style of ballads that weren't uncommon among US hardrock bands during the early nineties.

Stigmatized shows a lot more balls and plays itself into the top five of good songs from the album, as does closing track Who Can I Trust.

Conclusion: An approved attempt to create a different album from Ektomorf, but the quality level is not consistent throughout.

01. I Know Them
02. I'm In Hate
03. Be Free
04. Redemption
05. Simple Man
06. To Smoulder
07. Folsom Prison Blues
08. Again
09. Through Your Eyes
10. Fate
11. Stigmatized
12. Who Can I Trust
Label: AFM
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 75/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 19 February, 2012
Website: www.ektomorf.com