The Power Within
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 16 April, 2012
Playing time: 51:45

Dragonforce is known for its high tempo over the top power metal and the typical vocals of ZP Theart. In 2010 he left the band and they found a new singer called Marc Hudson. The new member has already showed at live gigs that he is a full fledged replacement.

On this new album he does a good job too. His vocals are not as high as ZP's, but he has the perfect sound for Dragonforce. Another fact is that the songs sound a little less hectic and excessive than on their earlier albums. In general there are some slower parts too, but on the other hand the song "Give Me the Night" is one of their heaviest songs to date. The keys have been put a little less in front of the mix than on the predecessors, but the overall Dragonforce sound is still in tact. The blast beats and the very fast guitar parts are still there, but with a little bit more consultation.

Songs like "Holding On", "Fallen World  and "Heart of the Storm" are typical fast DF tracks, "Cry Thunder" and "Wings of Liberty" have more mid-tempo parts and almost sound like normal power metal tracks. This is an album with more variety and with a great production. Metal fans that didn't like Dragonforce because of the hectic music could reconsider their point of view because of this new album. It is Dragonforce all the way, but just sounding a little less over the top and complicated.


01. Holding On
02. Fallen World
03. Cry Thunder
04. Give Me the Night
05. Wings of Liberty
06. Seasons
07. Heart of the Storm
08. Die By the Sword
09. Last Man Stands
Seasons (Acoustic version)

Label: Electric Generation
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 11 April, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/dragonforce