Diabulus In Musica
The Wanderer
Style: Gothic Symphonic Metal
Release date: 2 March, 2012
Playing time: 54:45

In 2010 I did the review for their debut record and an interview. The same year they played their first gig outside of Spain on the Dokkem' Open Air festival in my country.  I was rather enthusiastic about the band and they have continued their musical journey and development on the second album.

You can easily say that they are the Spanish version of Epica. They fish in the same pool and combine bombastic parts with gothic, heavy riffs, grunts and female vocals. Zuberoa Aznárez has a nice warm voice, ideal for this kind of music. I think she just doesn't have the class of Simone Simons yet, but she is almost there. The songs are well arranged and the combination of the grunts and clean singing sound natural. The music is very orchestral with classical musicians, but although they have used more choir and orchestral parts than on their debut, the album sounds heavier. That's because the guitar riffs sound more aggressive.

If this band can arrange a tour as support of for example Epica, I don't think there will be anything that can stop them to become one of the most popular metal acts from Spain.


01. A Journey's End (Intro)
02. Ex Nihilo
03. Sceneries of Hope
04. Blazing a Trail
05. Call From a Rising Memory (Intro)
06. Hidden Reality
07. Shadow of the Throne
08. Allegory of Faith, Innocence and Future
09. Sentenced to Life
10. Oihuka Bihotzetik
11. No Time For Repentance (Lamentatio)           12. The Wanderer

Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 25 February, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/diabulusinmusicaband