Power of Metal.dk Review

Style: Death Metal
Release date: 2 January, 2012
Playing time: 68:00

Finland's old school death-metal group Decaying is back with their second album. They don't make it too difficult for me to make a review. The brutal and devastating music they make can be easily compared with some of the more known bands in this genre. Also the lyrical subject about World War II is far from original, but playing this music you can't sing about dragons, elves, love or fairytales.

Originality is not something you will find on this album, but that isn't a problem at all. This 3-piece mixes Bolt Thrower with Hail of Bullets and it hits you like a steam-roller. The vocals of Matias Nastolin have some similarities to Asphyx/Hail of Bullets front man Martin van Drunen. The other 2 members handle their weapons very well and the production is mean and heavy. Not something that will end up in the 2012 end of the year lists, but a good head start of the worlds last year.

01. InitiationSong
02. Operation Citadel
03. From the Cradle to the Grave
04. Artillery Barrage
05. Battle of the Somme
06. Conclusion
07. On the Path of Subjugation
08. The Hell Of Verdun
09. Public Enlightenment
10. The Rising Sun
Label: Hellthrasher Records
Distribution: Hellthrasher Productions
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 1 January, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/decayingofficial