Mysticeti Victoria
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 24 August, 2012
Playing time: 53:40

This is the debut album of a French power metal band with symphonic and a few prog influences. I can not understand completely why Massacre Records signed them, there are many bands in this genre that are better. Not that the band sucks, they don't, but to me their music is a little too brave.

The guitar riffs could have sounded heavier and a little bit more complex, the songs are average without real highlights. Heavier tracks like "Lost" and "Beware the God" are my favorites, but a more serene track like "Lightning Guide" isn't bad either. The vocals of Anthony are without a lot of accent, but could have sounded more powerful and with a bit more bite.

With a less than flawless production and a step forward in songwriting their next album will surely get a few points more. A band that needs to grow, the potential is there and fans of European power metal (think Stratovarius) should take a listen.


01. Genesis
02. Taiji
03. Roma XXI
04. Black Meteor
05. Lightning Guide
06. Lost
07. Poison of Life
08. Eyes Have You
09. Beware the God
10. From Us
11. Life, Love & Death

Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 21 August, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/darktribemetal