Power of Metal.dk Review

Symphony of Souls
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: 24 February, 2012
Playing time: 60:18

I had some preconceived ideas when I saw that it was a German heavy metal band with a new album and that I should be writing about this artist's third album. To me German heavy metal is something I simplify as rock in a tempo at full speed and quickly double tramp, with slick guitars and often with a loud and shrill vocals with mediocre English pronunciation. Crow7's new album 'Symphony of Souls' is a German work of art I got in my possession and after several spins I must admit that my view of German HM has changed a little bit.

These guys make hard rock with catchy melodies and they play more in the melodic rock division than in the harder and darker Heavy Metal league. The singer 'Corbin Eved' is a new acquaintance in the metal sky and he also takes care of one of the guitars, but gosh he is struggling in many of the tracks which demands a singer that can sing in the higher notes (do I sense a similarity with ...Aldo Nova in the voice tone)? Crow7 give us just over an hour of easy-to-melt metal with many parts of extravagant and well built guitar solos with a solid and consistent drum & bass playing. I can't say that they make anything new or earthshaking on this album, but the technical knowledge and the progressive elements make this a band you should check out, sadly it's the lame vocal contribution, which dragged the rating down. The mixture of the progressive metal tracks and the languorous melodic tunes, makes this an album for fans of classic hard rock with decent vocals, rhythmic rock with great melodies.

With a stronger vocalist should this be rewarded with a higher score. Musically is this a great album. Fans of Bon Jovi, Foreigner, Saga can find something to enjoy on this album.

Best tracks: Symphony of Souls, The Guide, Great Spirit and Street of Slaver.

01. Symphony Of Souls
02. Street Of Slaver
03. Shiva Sign
04. The Guide
05. Kingdom Of Calm
06. Spawn Of Evil
07. Dirty Lies
08. Virtual Reality
09. Great Spirit
10. Winter Breeze
11. Breed Of Crime

12. Ocean Of Fire
13. Winner Of The Quest
14. The Final Ride
15. Where Do We Go From Now
Label: SAOL H'Art Zebralution
Distribution: SAOL H'Art Zebralution
Artwork rating: 83/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 21 February, 2012
Website: www.crow7.de