Power of Metal.dk Review

All We Love We Leave Behind
Style: Hardcore
Release date: 12 October, 2012
Playing time: 38:50

Converge's latest opus "All We Love We Leave Behind" is a powerful sounding album with guitar tones that instantly take me back to Mastodon. Throughout the album, gang vocals are well executed and an absolute pleasure when present and the drum sound all around is very well balanced.

Second track 'Trespasses' is a loud and violent trespasser of a song, with pounding riffs and typical rabble rousing hardcore punk riffs, designed to break limbs in the moshpit. Slower tracks such as 'Coral Blue' present a welcome change of pace from the grating tempo other tracks offer, as well as give insight to a band comfortable enough in its prowess to experiment and succeed doing so.

Converge are on of those bands I have always felt guilty about not knowing much about or indeed being into. Now that I've heard an entire album out from start to finish, I can see why people love them and I can see that they are indeed a good band, but I can also see why I don't count them among my favourite bands. No doubt this album will rub Converge fans up the right way, however, perhaps because I am uninitiated in this cult left me wanting something a little more polished than what I got in All We Love We Leave Behind.


01 Aimless Arrow
02 Trespasses
03 Tender Abuse
04 Sadness Comes Home
05 Empty On The Inside
06 Sparrow's Fall
07 A Glacial Pace
08 Vicious Muse
09 Veins And Veils
10 Coral Blue
11 Shame In The Way
12 Precipice
13 All We Love We Leave Behind
14 Predatory Glow

Label: Epitaph
Distribution: Playground Music
Reviewed by: Mark Debono
Date: 1 November, 2012
Website: www.convergecult.com