Power of Metal.dk Review

The Rewritten Chapters
Style: Nordic Heavy Metal
Release date: 27 April, 2012
Playing time: 61:56

The journey from a Melodic Black Metal band between 1995-2009 and through a very short period of Melodic Death Metal and now into this kind of Nordic Viking Heavy Metal as they call it is Catamenia's history in a compressed version. The band was formed in -95 by the only remaining member Riku Hopeakoski in Oulu, Finland. "The Rewritten Chapters" is their eleventh full length album and hopefully the lineup will be the same today as yesterday, because the loyalty of the former members of Catamenia is not anything to brag about. To me this is a new acquaintance and not really my favorite genre either, because the vocal effort is in the harsher growling and screaming section from the vocalist Juha-Matti Perttunen (All Against).

The evolution from Melodic Death Metal to Nordic Metal isn't such a big difference in my ears, but now have they have more guitar riffs than I expected and several tracks are quite enjoyable, although is this a impossible vocal effort, which is hard for me to handle. If you like screaming/grunt vocals and fast powerful melodic guitars and with technical/advanced drumming, this is something you must check out. Don't be fooled by the style Nordic Heavy Metal, if you expect something close to old fashioned Heavy Metal, because this is something completely different.

After my first listening, my emotions were all over the place and I didn't get a real grip of the songs either. It requires several listenings and is not something you just quickly throw in the CD player and easy melts in the ears, without knowing what you will be required of you, as the receiver of this wall of sound that you will be served and filled into the head. After 10 spins I began to sort things out and it requires time and patience to figure the greatness out. A strong album with many twist and turns in high speed that grows after each listening. "The Rewritten Chapters" contains as the title says most older song in new uniforms from earlier releases from Catamenia and maybe 'Greatest Hits' would be another title of the album, but if you are interested in this genre, then this is a nice album to start to explore this band.

Best tracks: Hollow Out - Chaosburn, Blackmension, Cavalcade, Eskhata, Coldbound and Kuolon Tanssi.

Fans of Finnish metal bands as Children Of Bodom, Ensiferum, Kalmah, Norther and early Amorphis know what to expect of these guys.

01. Hollow Out - ChaosBorn
02. Blackmension

03. Alive ... Cold ... Dead!

04. Cavalcade

05. Passing Moment of Twilight Time

06. The Day When the Sun Faded Away
07. My Blood Stained Path
08. Post Mortem

09. Morning Crimson

10. Eskhata

11. Coldbound
12. Lost in Bitterness
13. Pimeae Yoe
14. Kuolon Tanssi
15. Born To Be My Baby (Bon Jovi cover)
Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark
Artwork rating: 74/100
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 13 April, 2012
Website: www.catamenia.net