Carach Angren
Where the Corpses Sink Forever
Style: Black Horror Metal
Release date: 18 May, 2012
Playing time: 43:09

Carach Angren combines ghost stories with war on this album. Horror stories lingered to the war, a combination of reality and fiction. The music can be compared to Cradle of Filth, but with the orchestral parts even more in front. Take a listen to "Lingering in an Imprint Haunting", where the orchestral parts have something in it what reminds me a bit of Mekong Delta.

This is an album that will be hated by the black metal purists, but if you like the combination of black and orchestral parts, this is for you. Seregor grunts, growls and whispers the lyrics to give the story the right atmosphere. The orchestral parts and guitars are both in front of the mix, but the album still sounds dark and spooky. The rolling drums, tight rhythms, haunting guitars, threatening violin parts, piano parts, spoken pieces, the well arranged and balanced songs make this an album that is among the best in this genre.

Since Cradle of Filth's album "Cruelty and the Beast' I haven't heard a better symphonic black metal concept album. I'm sure this Dutch band will get a lot of credit for this album. Their predecessor 'Death Came Through a Phantom Ship' was already a nice album, but this one tops it with better songs, better production and orchestral arrangements.


01. An Ominous Recording
02. Lingering in an Imprint Haunting
03. Bitte tötet mich
04. The Funerary Dirge of a Violinist
05. Sir John
06. Spectral Infantry Battalions
07. General Nigthmare
08. Little Hector What Have You Done
09. These Fields Are Lurking (Seven Pair of Demon Eyes)

Label: Season of Mist
Distribution: Season of Mist
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 18 May, 2012