Book of Reflections
Relentless Fighter
Style: Neo classical metal
Release date: 23 May, 2012
Playing time: 46:57

Lars Eric Mattson (guitars, bass, keys, composer) hired Carsten 'Lizard' Schulz (Evidence One) and Markku Kuikka (Status Minor) to take care of the vocals on this third Book of Reflections album.

10 tracks of neoclassical hard rock/metal, the way it was invented by Yngwie Malmsteen a long time ago. This album is a bit heavier than the predecessor 'Chapter II - Unfold the Future', but the difference is minor. After a few tracks I push the forward button to conclude that further on it is more of the same. To convince myself that I'm wrong I listened again from start to finish this time, but after that I have to conclude that this is an album of well performed neo classical hard rock/metal with all the ingredients you would expect, but that it sounds too corny. The computer drums are too static and boring if you ask me and sound too flat.

If you are into all the neo classical stuff, you will certainly appreciate this album, with finger fast guitars and keys, good melodies and solid singing. I hear no new things, just common recycled Yngwie Malmsteen songs.


01. Until the Day
02. Dance With the Devil
03. Angel Shed a Tear
04. Bleeding Dry
05. Rise Up!
06. Crashing Through
07. Somewhere Else to Be
08. Gates to Oblivion
09. Keep us Afloat
10. Without My Angel

Label: Lion Music
Distribution: Border Music Distribution AB
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 30 May, 2012