Blessed Curse
Blessed Curse
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 23 March, 2012
Playing time: 67:26

Starting back in 2001 under the name Atrosity the band changed their name into Devastator. They recorded a few EP's, but changed their name again into Blessed Curse before releasing this, their debut album. This Northern Californian trio doesn't play a very original style of thrash. Like a lot of other NWOTB, they mix typical Bay Area thrash with the old school German version (read Destruction). Tyler Satterlee has the perfect voice for this style and sounds like an ideal mix of several known thrash singers.

Nothing wrong so far I hear you think, and that is partly correct. The execution of the songs is good, the musicians play well, but there is a total lack of own ideas. Riffs that have no originality and are repeated into eternity. There isn't a song that makes me seize them on own creativity. When you take into account that the songs are rather long, you can imagine that the album gets boring after a while. This is an album by a band that can play a nice version of thrash, but there are so many at the moment. As long as Exodus, Destruction, Overkill and even younger bands like Warbringer write better songs, a band like Blessed Curse will have to take into account that they stay a nice opener to warm up the crowd. I'm also still asking myself what the instrumental "Carpathian Mist" adds to the album, a total useless acoustic guitar part; what's the idea behind it?

Die-hard Bay Area thrash fans that can't get enough of this style, take a listen.

01. Bleeding Cross
02. Hellraisers
03. Demon Dance
04. Slaughtered Like Pigs
05. March of the Wicked
06. Carpathian Mist
07. Rise of the Undead
08. Feasting Witch
09. The Devil's Mark
10. Something Evil
11. Eternal Hate / Blessed Curse                         12. Burn the Beast
Label: Cyclone Empire
Distribution: SureShotworx
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 20 March, 2012