Power of Metal.dk Review

Beyond the Bridge
The Old Man and the Spirit
Style: Progressive Metal
Release date: 20 January, 2012
Playing time: 67:51

Beyond the Bridge began in its earliest form in 1999, but it took 6 years before this project began to have a life of its own. The first recording sessions for this concept album began in 2008 at Gate Studio, Wolfsburg, Germany. So the band has taken it's time to work everything out, to fine tune each and every little detail and the result is nothing short of amazing!

"The Old Man and the Spirit" is a concept album that deals with the polarity of human sensuousness and superhuman awareness, told by the two main characters: the spirit and the old man, portrayed by the two lead vocalists: Herbie Langhans (Seventh Avenue, Sinbreed etc.) and Dilenya Mar and that combination is only one of many reasons why this album is something special. Another reason is that this is a band of talented and professional trained musicians and the technical level is extremely high.

But the star of the show is the song! Even though the album is packed with amazing and razor-sharp riffs, brilliant guitar leads and harmonies and outstanding keyboard parts it is always in the interest of the song! On top of the perfectly executed songs we have layers of amazing vocals, vocal harmonies and choirs and everything has been wrapped in a crystal clear production that does justice to each instrument, vocalist and choir.

Beyond the Bridge sets the bar very high for all, not just for debut albums, but all progressive metal acts to follow!

01. The Call (6:34)
02. The Apparition (8:04)
03. Triumph of Irreality (6:11)
04. The Spring of It All (1:48)
05. World of Wonders (5:03)
06. The Primal Demand (2:07)
07. Doorway to Salvation (7:54)
08. The Struggle (5:23)
09. The Difference is Human (7:56)
10. Where the Earth and Sky Meet (6:57)
11. All A Man Can Do (9:33)
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 13 January, 2012
Website: www.beyondthebridge.net