Forbidden World (lp)
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: September 2011
Playing time: 43:47

I thought 'You're fuckin' shitting me?' when I listened to the first few minutes of Swedish Antichrist's 'Forbidden World' album.

One thing is that the beginning sounds an awful lot like the intro to Hell Awaits, another is that what follows sounds like a mixture of Kreator/Tankard/Destruction/Artillery/Rigor Mortis anno 1985 - with an equally terrible production plus a vocalist who more like he's giving it all he's got than he actually sounds good.

I was about to slate the whole thing initially, but once I'd gone through the album a couple of times and moved into the layers of riffing, the part of me that's still the boy who never left the period from the mid- to late eighties began to have its say in the review process.

There are parts of this album which are so utterly genuine in their expression that they can nothing but touch the heart of an old thrash head. There's a riff here, a break there, then a vocal line or a particular beat which throws you into the whirlpool of time and brings you back to a day when computers where used merely calculating really big numbers and not for recording music.

This is in no way the greatest thrash metal album of the music history, but it sure holds a lot of old-school quality, and for that it's worth a listen.

01. Dark Sorcery (04:37)
02. Militia of Death (02:41)
03. Torment in Hell (04:00)
04. Forbidden World (01:37)
05. Necropolis (08:10)
06. Victims of the Blade (03:25)
07. Death Rays (03:28)
08. Sign of the Beast (04:02)
09. Minotaur (08:00)
10. Terror Dimension (03:41)
Label: High Roller Records
Artwork rating: 50/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 15 July, 2012