Angelus Apatrida
The Call
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 30 April, 2012
Playing time: 44:38

My Bulgarian colleague Maria rewarded their third album 'Clockwork' (June 2010) with an 87 points rating. This Spanish thrash metal band has kept the same high standard and the album sounds even better. The guitars and drums are more in front of the mix and the quality of the songs are at least the same. They are still influenced by the Bay Area Thrash bands like Testament, Death Angel, Flotsam and Jetsam and Exodus.

On their third album they already added more melody and they continued with it on this new album. The songs are fast, but when the band slows a bit down in tracks like in the track "Reborn" they really blossom. Vocalist Guillermo Izquierdo sounds like a mixture of Mark Osegueda, Chuck Billy and Schmier. What else do you want more from a thrash vocalist? Solid fast melodic thrash in which they have also implemented parts that remind of the latest Destruction albums. I'm sure that this band will be successful outside Spain too with this fine album. If the new After All record is appreciated so much by the international press and fans, this one will certainly be as well.

The band will be touring across Europe with 3 Inches of Blood, Goatwhore and Havok in May and they will certainly win some souls there. Fans of NWOTB bands like Warbringer and Havok should add Angelus Apatrida to their list too.


01. You Are Next
02. At the Gates of Hell
03. Violent Dawn
04. It's Rising
05. Blood on the Snow
06. Killer Instinct
07. The Hope is Gone
08. Fresh Pleasure
09. Still Corrupt
10. Reborn

Label: Century Media
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 28 April, 2012