Global Flatline
Style: Deathgrind
Release date: 23 January, 2012
Playing time: 43:40

There are bands with a very consistent line-up and bands where members come and go. Belgian band Aborted was founded in 1995 and about 20 different musicians have been at one point been a member of this band. In 2010 a limited EP called 'Coronary Reconstruction' was recorded and 3 songs can also be heard on this new album. There are also three new members; Ken Bedene (Abigail Williams) on drums, Michael Wilson (ex-Abigail Williams, System Divine) on guitar and J.B. van der Wal (Leaves' Eyes, Atrocity) on bass. Israeli guitarist Eran Segal and front man Sven de Caluwť are the two remaining members.

Did that change their style a lot? No is the answer, perhaps you could say that their music is a little bit more melodic, and a little bit faster in general. The vocal parts have more variation and that is not only because of Sven. Besides Sven, there are a few guests that help the band out; Trevor Strnad, Julien Truchan, Jason Netherton and Keiijo Niinima take care of some vocals too. The band still sounds very brutal with grind pieces and riffs, but sometimes they slow down a little bit like in the track "Fecal Forgery".

Aborted has in my opinion made their most variable and best album in their existence. Death grinders can check them out.

01. Omega Mortis
02. Global Flatline
03. The Origin of Disease
04. Coronary Reconstruction
05. Fecal Forgery
06. Of Scabs and Boils
07. Vermicular, Obscene, Obese
08. Expurgation Euphoria
09. From a Tepid Whiff
10. The Kallinger Theory
11. Our Father, Who Art of Feces
12. Grime
13. Endstille
Label: Century Media
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 18 January, 2012
Website: www.myspace.com/abortedmetal